The University of Texas at Tyler
Tyler   •   Longview   •   Palestine
A centerpiece for learning,
culture and natural beauty
Random Image Alt Text

UT Tyler Department of Biology

Research

Ali Azghani, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Research Interests: Molecular mechanisms of pulmonary injury in infection and inflammation.
Research Website
ali_azghani@uttyler.edu

Josh Banta, Ph.D, Stony Brook University, 2008
Assistant Professor of Biology
Research Interests: Ecological genomics, landscape ecology, community ecology, quantitative genetics, evolution
Research Website
The Banta Lab Webpage
jbanta@uttyler.edu

Blake Bextine, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Research Interests: Insect transmission of plant pathogens, molecular detection of pathogens, and bacterial and insect genomics
Research Websites:
Bextine Lab
The International Psyllid Genome Consortium
bbextine@uttyler.edu

Jessica Coleman, M.S., The University of Texas at Tyler
Lecturer
Research Interests: Ecology, natural history, biodiversity, and conservation of herpetofauna.
jcoleman@uttyler.edu

Neil B. Ford, Ph.D., Miami University of Ohio, 1979
Professor of Biology
Research Interests: Reproductive physiology of snakes, ecology and behavior of snakes
Research Website
nford@uttyler.edu

Srini Kambhampati, Ph.D., Simon Fraser University, 1987
Professor of Biology and Chair
Research Interests: Evolution, population genetics, and genomics of insects
Research Website
srini@uttyler.edu

Katrin Kellner, Dr. rer. nat., University of Regensburg, 2009
Research Interests: Evolutionary ecology, population and evolutionary genetics, microbial ecology, evolution of mating systems, parthenogenic ants

James F. Koukl, Ph.D., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1978
Associate Professor of Biology
Research Interests: hibernation physiology in turtles, ecology and behavior of turtles
Research Website
jkoukl@uttyler.edu

John Placyk, Ph.D., University of Tennessee, 2006
Assistant Professor of Biology
Research Interests: Conservation biology, ecology and evolution of phenotypic traits, genetic composition of species populations.
Research Website
jplacyk@uttyler.edu

Jon Seal, Ph.D., Florida State University, 2006
Research Interests: Functional ecology, symbioses, behavioral ecology/physiology, phylogeography, conservation biology

Lance Williams, Ph.D., Mississippi State University, 2000
Associate Professor of Biology
Research Interests: Aquatic community ecology, influence of restoration practices on aquatic ecosystems.
Research Website
lwilliams@uttyler.edu

©