Any student who began college for the first time as a freshman in Fall 2007 or thereafter may not drop more than six courses during their entire undergraduate career. This includes courses dropped at another 2-year or 4-year Texas public college or university. For purposes of this rule, a dropped course is any course that is dropped after the published census date (See Academic Calendar located at http://www.uttyler.edu/schedule/academiccalendar.htm for the date).
Exceptions to the 6-drop rule include, but are not limited to, the following:
- totally withdrawing from the university;
- being administratively dropped from a course by an instructor or the university;
- dropping a course for a provable illness or disability, for care for a sick or injured person, or for a death in the immediate family;
- dropping a course for documented change of work schedule;
- dropping a course for active duty service with the U.S. armed forces or Texas National Guard;
- dropping a course that does not carry college-level credit such as a developmental course or a zero-credit course; or
- dropping courses taken as required co-requisites such as a lecture class with a required laboratory. In such cases the lecture and lab are counted as one drop when dropped at the same time.
Petitions for exemptions must be submitted to the Office of the Registrar and accompanied by documentation of the extenuating circumstances beyond performance in the course. Please contact the Office of the Registrar if you have any questions.
A designation will appear on transcripts of any student who has dropped a course where an exemption or exception was granted. All Texas institutions are required to honor the exemptions and exceptions granted by a transferring institution. Procedures for implementing the law vary among institutions. Therefore, students have an obligation to keep track of the number of non-exempted dropped courses across all institutions to ensure that they do not exceed the six dropped courses limit.