UT Tyler

Graduate School Faculty

UT Tyler Graduate Council

2016-17 Chair: Dr. Mary Fischer, College of Business & Technology

2016-17 Membership:

  • Dr. Srini Kambhampati, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Dr. Randy LeBlanc, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Dr. Nicholas Fessler, College of Business & Technology
  • Dr. Mary Fischer, College of Business & Technology
  • Dr. Dennis Combs, College of Education & Psychology
  • Dr. Wes Hickey, College of Education & Psychology
  • Dr. Hassan El-Kishky, College of Engineering
  • Dr. Torey Nalbone, College of Engineering
  • Dr. Belinda Deal, College of Nursing & Health Sciences
  • Dr. William Sorensen, College of Nursing & Health Sciences
  • Dr. David Pearson, College of Pharmacy
  • Ms. Rebecca Fernandez, Muntz Library
  • Mrs. Chelsea Miller, The Graduate School
  • Dr. William Geiger, The Graduate School
  • Dr. Alecia Wolf, The Graduate School
  • Ms. Brenda Burton, Registrar's Office
  • Aaron Reagan, Student in College of Business & Technology
  • David Gwinn, Student in College of Education & Psychology

The Graduate Council has the responsibility for reviewing and approving graduate course proposals and course changes initiated by department or other academic units. It also reviews and makes recommendations regarding new graduate program proposals and program modifications. It has the authority to make recommendations for modification of Graduate policies and procedures for student admission, continuation, graduation, Graduate Faculty credentialing, and similar issues forwarded by departments, colleges or other units.

The Graduate Council acts in an advisory capacity to the Dean of Graduate Studies, providing consultation and information on issues relating to graduate policies and procedures.

A calendar of future meetings will be published and made available to all faculty at the beginning of each school year. The agenda for upcoming meetings will also be made available at least one week before the meeting. Minutes of all meetings must be kept and made available in a timely manner to the faculty at large.

Membership: Two members from each academic college with Graduate Faculty status, two graduate students, and the Dean of Graduate Studies as ex officio, non-voting member. Ad hoc members may include the Director of the Library, a representative from the Admissions Office or other individuals as regarded as necessary by the Council.

The chair of the Graduate Council shall be elected by the membership and hold office for two years.

Faculty members from each college hold three-year staggered appointments. Each college will determine how its representatives are selected.

Student members are selected for one-year terms and in college alphabetical order so that each college has at least one representative within a period of 3 years. Selection is made by the dean of the college. (Year 1: Arts and Sciences and Business and Technology; Year 2: Education and Psychology and Engineering and Computer Science; Year 3: Nursing and Health Sciences and Arts and Sciences, etc.)

UT Tyler