UT Tyler

UT Tyler Department of Mathematics

Advising

The Department of Mathematics is here to make sure you are getting the advice you need for mathematics courses. Most people who need advice have one of the following common questions.

  • What course should I take for the core curriculum? What are the prerequisites?

Answer: The core curriculum at The University of Texas at Tyler has recently undergone revision. Currently, the best place for information on the core is your academic advisor. New freshmen and transfer students can find information on advising at the Academic Advising Center; upper division students should meet with their individual academic advisor within their department or program of study.

  • What scores do I need on the ACT, SAT, THEA, etc. in order to take college-level math courses like College Algebra, Business Math I, Math for Liberal Arts, or Statistics I? If my scores are not high enough to get me into one of these courses. What should I do?

Answer: See our page on algebra placement for detailed information on test scores and prerequisites for these courses.

  • I want to take Calculus I, but I do not meet the prerequisites. What should I do?

Answer: See our page on calculus placement for help. You can find information on test scores, the trigonometry placement exam, and resources to help you study for the exam.

  • I'm a mathematics major or I am interested in becoming a mathematics major. What should I do? How do I get an advisor and a degree plan?

Answer: Incoming freshmen who wish to declare a math major should contact the department immediately at math@uttyler.edu. The department's administrative assistant will assign you to a departmental advisor who can assist you in formulating a degree plan.

New transfers who wish to declare a math major should first consult with the College of Arts and Science Advising Office at casadvising@uttyler.edu regarding transfer credit, and then contact the Department of Mathematics.

See our page on the undergraduate math program for more information, or contact one of the faculty members listed below.

 

Advising Contact

Lori R. Wages
903.565.5839
math@uttyler.edu

 

Undergraduate Advising

Dr. Katie Anders
Assistant Professor
RBN 4046
Phone: 903.565.5619
E-mail: kanders@uttyler.edu

Dr. Kassie Archer
Assistant Professor
RBN 4008
Phone: 903.565.5624
E-mail: karcher@uttyler.edu

Dr. J. Regan Beckham
Associate Professor
RBN 4012
Phone: 903.566.7192
E-mail: rbeckham@uttyler.edu

Dr. Christy Graves
Associate Professor
Office: RBN 4012
Phone: 903.566.7277
E-mail: cgraves@uttyler.edu

Dr. Stephen Graves
Associate Professor
Office: RBN 4011
Phone: 903.565.5679
E-mail: sgraves@uttyler.edu

Dr. Deborah Koslover
Associate Professor
Office: RBN 4010
Phone: 903.566.7143
E-mail: dkoslover@uttyler.edu

Dr. Scott LaLonde
Assistant Professor
RBN 4005
Phone: 903.566.7449
E-mail: slalonde@uttyler.edu

Dr. Lindsey-Kay Lauderdale
Assistant Professor
RBN 4048
Phone: 903.565.5625
E-mail: llauderdale@uttyler.edu

Dr. David Milan
Associate Professor
RBN 4006
Phone: 903.566.7198
E-mail: dmilan@uttyler.edu

 

 

Graduate Advising

Dr. Nathan Smith
Associate Professor
Office: RBN 4013
Phone: 903.566.7216
E-mail: nathan@math.uttyl.edu

UT Tyler