UT Tyler

UT Tyler Office of Marketing and Communications

UT Tyler Academy Awards Celebration Honors Faculty

Follow @UTTyler

Tweet - @UTTyler

April 13, 2012

Media Contact:  Hannah Buchanan
Public Affairs Specialist
Marketing and Communications
The University of Texas at Tyler
903.565.5769 or 903.539.7196 (cell)

April 13, 2012

The University of Texas at Tyler Faculty Senate will hold the annual Academy Awards Celebration to honor excellence among UT Tyler faculty, Dr. Donna Dickerson, interim provost and vice president for academic affairs, announced.

The university will recognize 35 faculty members at the event, which begins at 6:30 p.m. Friday, April 20 in the UT Tyler Ornelas Activity Center.

This year’s theme, “To the Future and Beyond,” is in recognition of UT Tyler’s 40th anniversary.

Recipients of the prestigious University Teaching and Excellence Awards, Research Awards from the Office of Sponsored Research, promotions, tenure and retirees will be honored.

Among recipients, Drs. Stephen Daniels, professor of history and political science, W. Allen Martin, professor of social sciences; Keith McCoy, professor of kinesiology; and Don McClaugherty, professor of chemistry, also will be awarded the Professor Emeritus title.

For more information, contact Dr. Shelly Marmion, UT Tyler Faculty Senate president, 903.566.7251 or smarmion@uttyler.edu.

One of the 15 campuses of the UT System, UT Tyler offers excellence in teaching, research, artistic performance and community service. More than 80 undergraduate and graduate degree programs are available at UT Tyler, which has an enrollment of almost 7,000 high-ability students at its campuses in Tyler, Longview and Palestine.
UT Tyler