UT Tyler

UT Tyler Office of Marketing and Communications

UT Tyler Students Participate in 2012 Summer LSAMP Research Academy

Follow @UTTyler

Tweet - @UTTyler

June 13, 2012

Media Contact:  Hannah Buchanan
Public Affairs Specialist
Marketing and Communications
The University of Texas at Tyler
903.565.5769 or 903.539.7196 (cell)

June 13, 2012

Ten undergraduate students at The University of Texas at Tyler are participants in the UT System Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation 2012 Summer Research Academy, under the mentorship of faculty from the Colleges of Arts and Sciences and Engineering and Computer Science.

The participating research fellows, listed by hometown with their research field and faculty mentor are:

ARP – Victoria Vaught, chemistry, Dr. Sean Butler.

AUSTIN – Isaac Hemby, biology, Dr. John Placyk.

BROWNSBORO – Halima Farooq, biology, Dr. Ali Azghani.

HENDERSON – Sadie Hillis, biology, Placyk.

KEMP – Joshua Mesa, biology, Dr. Joshua Banta.

KILGORE – Lakshman Raut, electrical engineering, Dr. David Hoe.

MANSFIELD – MacKenzie Patton, biology, Dr. Blake Bextine.

OVERTON – Justin Hazlerig, biology, Bextine.

TYLER – John Hyde, mathematics, Dr. Casey Mann; and Melecio Silva, biology, Banta.

The UT LSAMP program is supported by funding from the National Science Foundation and provides undergraduate research experiences in an effort to encourage students from underrepresented groups to pursue graduate level studies in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics programs.

Each student will receive a fellowship stipend for their participation and faculty mentors receive funding for supplies and materials to support their students’ research activities. Once during the summer, the SRA students will participate in a videoconference involving all LSAMP fellows and mentors across the UT System. The students also will give poster presentations of the results of their research projects at conclusion of the academy and at the annual UT LSAMP Student Research Conference on Sept. 20 – 23 at UT El Paso.

Dr. Stephen B. Rainwater, Lecil and Barbara Chandler endowed professor of computer science, serves as local campus director of the UT Tyler LSAMP program. Dr. Neil Gray, chair and professor of chemistry, also contributes in a supporting role on the advisory committee for the program.

One of the 15 campuses of the UT System, UT Tyler offers excellence in teaching, research, artistic performance and community service. More than 80 undergraduate and graduate degree programs are available at UT Tyler, which has an enrollment of almost 7,000 high-ability students at its campuses in Tyler, Longview and Palestine.

UT Tyler