UT Tyler

UT Tyler Office of Marketing and Communications

UT Tyler Faculty Awards Presented at 2012–13 Convocation

Follow @UTTyler

Tweet - @UTTyler

August 17, 2012

Media Contact:  Hannah Buchanan
Public Affairs Specialist
Marketing and Communications
The University of Texas at Tyler
903.565.5769 or 903.539.7196 (cell)

August 17, 2012

The University of Texas at Tyler officials presented faculty awards during the 2012 – 13 Opening Convocation Aug. 17, President Rodney Mabry announced.

“Our dedicated faculty are highly innovative and among the best in their fields. We are proud to recognize their great work,” President Mabry said.

Recipients and their awards are:

  • Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award – Dr. Shaun Black, senior lecturer in chemistry.

This honor recognizes the nominees’ overall commitment and excellence in undergraduate teaching among UT System faculty members. Nominees are recommended by the President of each UT System and are reviewed by an external committee comprised of academic administrators, faculty, students and the UT System Board of Regents.

Black will receive a $25,000 award in recognition of his extraordinary classroom performance and innovation at the undergraduate level.

  • President’s Scholarly Achievement Award – Dr. Greg Wang, professor of human resource development.

This award recognizes outstanding scholarly achievements by a faculty member. Selections are made by a university committee.

  • Provost’s Excellence in Teaching Award – Dr. Randy Back, assistant professor of physics; Dr. John Lamb, associate professor of education; and Dr. Jason Smee, associate professor of chemistry.

The Provost’s Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes faculty whose excellence in undergraduate teaching resulted in their nomination for the Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award.

  • Jack and Dorothy Faye White Fellowship for Teaching Excellence – Dr. Christina Graves, assistant professor of mathematics; and Dr. Hector Ochoa, assistant professor of electrical engineering.

This honor recognizes excellence in teaching. Nominations are made by both university faculty and students.

  • 2012–13 Piper Professor nominee and White Fellowship for Teaching Excellence – Ochoa.

This honor focuses on the nominee’s overall excellence in both teaching and scholarly achievement at UT Tyler. Nominees are made by UT Tyler faculty and become the university’s candidate for the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation Excellence in Teaching award, which annually recognizes 15 professors for superior teaching at the college level in Texas. This nominee also automatically receives UT Tyler’s White Fellowship.

One of the 15 campuses of the UT System, UT Tyler offers excellence in teaching, research, artistic performance and community service. More than 80 undergraduate and graduate degree programs are available at UT Tyler, which has an enrollment of almost 7,000 high-ability students at its campuses in Tyler, Longview and Palestine.

UT Tyler