UT Tyler

UT Tyler Office of Marketing and Communications

Students Participate in LSAMP Summer Research Academy at UT Tyler

June 13, 2013

Media Contact:  Hannah Buchanan
Public Affairs Specialist
Marketing and Communications
The University of Texas at Tyler
903.565.5769 or 903.539.7196 (cell)

June 13, 2013

Media Contact: Hannah Buchanan
Public Affairs Specialist
Marketing and Communications
The University of Texas at Tyler
903.565.5769 or 903.539.7196 (cell)

Students from The University of Texas at Tyler and Tyler Junior College are participants in the UT System Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation 2013 Summer Research Academy, under the mentorship of faculty from the UT Tyler College of Arts and Sciences and TJC.

Now in its 21st year, the UT LSAMP program is supported by funding from the National Science Foundation and provides undergraduate research experiences in an effort to encourage students from underrepresented populations to pursue graduate level studies in science, technology, engineering and mathematics programs. This year, Tyler Junior College is a community college partner in the UT LSAMP program.

UT Tyler student fellows are listed by hometown with their research field and faculty mentor.

ATHENS – Jennifer Parks, biology, Dr. Joshua Banta, UT Tyler assistant professor.

BELTON – Randy Sronce, chemistry, Dr. Tanya Shtoyko, UT Tyler associate professor.

DIANA – Edith Plants-Paris, biology, Dr. John Placyk, UT Tyler assistant professor.

LONGVIEW – Andrea Ortiz, biology, Dr. Blake Bextine, UT Tyler associate professor.

HOUSTON – Ricardo Estupinian, biology, Bextine.

TYLER – Larrimy Brown, biology, Placyk; and David Morman, computer science, David Alger, TJC computer science faculty member.

WHITEHOUSE – Caroline Dougherty, computer science, Alger.

TJC student fellows Jesus Espinoza of Palestine and Lee Parker of Tyler are also conducting biology research at UT Tyler under the mentorship of Dr. Ali Azghani, UT Tyler associate professor of biology.

Each student receives a fellowship stipend for their participation and faculty mentors receive funding for supplies and materials to support their student’s research activities.

Once during the summer, the SRA students will participate in a videoconference involving all LSAMP fellows and mentors across the UT System. The students will also give poster presentations of the results of their research projects at the academy’s conclusion and the 2013 UT LSAMP Student Research Conference, scheduled for September at UT Permian Basin.

Dr. Stephen B. Rainwater, Lecil and Barbara Chandler endowed professor of computer science at UT Tyler, serves as local campus director of the UT Tyler LSAMP program. Dr. Neil Gray, UT Tyler chair and professor of chemistry; and Dr. Neil Ford, UT Tyler professor of biology, also contribute in supporting roles on the advisory committee for the program.

Gigi Delk, TJC computer science faculty member and UT Tyler adjunct senior lecturer, serves as the TJC LSAMP campus director.

All nine UT System academic institutions, as well as community college partners, are involved in the LSAMP program.

Nearly 100 UT Tyler students have participated under the guidance of more than a dozen faculty mentors in biology, chemistry, mathematics, computer science, electrical engineering and mechanical engineering.

For more information about the UT Tyler LSAMP Summer Research Academy, contact Rainwater, 903.566.7235 or srainwater@uttyler.edu.

One of the 15 campuses of the UT System, UT Tyler offers excellence in teaching, research, artistic performance and community service. More than 80 undergraduate and graduate degree programs are available at UT Tyler, which has an enrollment of almost 7,000 high-ability students at its campuses in Tyler, Longview and Palestine.