The University of Texas at Tyler
Tyler   •   Longview   •   Palestine
A centerpiece for learning,
culture and natural beauty
Random Image Alt Text

Office of the President

Dr. Rodney H. Mabry

Dr. Rod H. Mabry

Dr. Rodney H. Mabry is the third president of The University of Texas at Tyler. He was appointed by the U.T. System Board of Regents, on July 1, 1998.

President Mabry has served the field of higher education for 42 years. Prior to joining UT Tyler, he was dean of the business college at the University of Tulsa (1994-1998). He was the department chair and professor of finance at Clemson University (1984-1994), and head of the department of economics and finance at the University of Louisiana-Monroe (1979-1984). He began his career on the economics faculty at Clemson (1973-1979) and, while there, served two years as a field research associate for the Brookings Institution in Washington, D.C.

President Mabry, who is also the Dr. Ben R. Fisch Professor of Economics and Finance at UT Tyler, has been active in professional organizations throughout his career. He currently serves as chair of the Texas International Education Consortium (TIEC) Executive Committee. He is also on the American Southwest Conference (ASC) Council of Presidents and is a former conference president.  More...

Related Videos



More Information

  • UT Tyler Mission Statement

    The University of Texas at Tyler is a comprehensive institution of higher education offering undergraduate and graduate degree programs as an institution of the renowned University of Texas System. Read more