Office of the Registrar
Frequently Asked Questions Continued
21. What is the 6-Drop Rule?
ATTENTION FRESHMEN: Revised 6-Drop Rule (New Legislation: SB 1231)
January 13, 2009
Any student who began college for the first time as a freshman in Fall 2007 or thereafter may not drop more than six courses during their entire undergraduate career. This includes courses dropped at another 2-year or 4-year Texas public college or university. For purposes of this rule, a dropped course is any course that is dropped after the published Census Date (See Schedule of Classes for the date).
Exceptions to the 6-drop rule include:
- students totally withdrawing from the university;
- students administratively dropped from a course by the university;
- dropping a course for a provable illness or disability, for care for a sick or injured person, or for a death in the immediate family;
- dropping a course for documented change of work schedule;
- dropping a course for active duty service with the U.S. armed forces or Texas National Guard;
- dropping a course that does not carry college-level credit such as a developmental course or a zero-credit course; or
- dropping courses taken as required co-requisites such as lecture class with a required laboratory. In such cases the lecture and lab are counted as one drop when dropped at the same time.
Additional exemptions may be granted upon petition to the Office of Academic Affairs and must be accompanied by documentation of the extenuating circumstance beyond performance in the course. For more information, contact the Enrollment Services Center, (903) 566-7180.
A designation will appear on transcripts of any student who has dropped a course where an exemption or exception was granted. All Texas institutions are required to honor the exemptions or exceptions granted by a transferring institution.
Procedures for implementing the law vary among institutions. Therefore, students have an obligation to keep track of the number of non-exempt dropped courses across all institutions to ensure that they do not exceed the six dropped courses limit.
23. What is the Timely Graduation Contract?
UT Tyler’s timely graduation contract is designed to help first-time freshmen meet requirements for graduation in a four-year period. Students who satisfy all of the conditions of the contract and graduate on time will be guaranteed a one-time $600 graduate-on-time tuition rebate.
Freshmen who choose to enter into the agreement must enroll in a minimum of 15 semester credit hours each fall and spring semester, maintain an overall C average, be willing to enroll in specific courses even if they are not offered at preferred times and attend summer school if the degree requires more than 120 hours or if they fall behind in academic progress.
UT Tyler agrees to substitute a course or courses or an independent study course, as determined by the advisor, for an unavailable course. The university also may waive the required unavailable course as long as it doesn’t cause the student to fall below the required 120 hours for graduation.
If neither of those options is possible, UT Tyler will allow the delay of graduation and pay the designated tuition and fees, excluding the mandatory state tuition, for the student to take the course the next time it’s offered.
For more information, contact the UT Tyler Office of Academic Advising at (903) 565-5718.
24. How do I obtain information about the tuition rebate for qualified undergraduate students?
The Tuition Rebate Program for Qualified Undergraduates, in accordance with Section 54.0065 of the Texas Education Code, provides a financial incentive (up to $1000) for a student to complete the bachelor’s degree with no more than 3 credit hours attempted above the degree requirements, thereby minimizing the number of courses taken and resulting in financial savings to students, parents and the state. Application forms are available at the Enrollment Services Center (ADM 230).
Additional information can be found here.
25. What is the Excessive and Repeated Hours Rule?
Texas Education Code 54.068 allows colleges and universities to charge a higher tuition rate to students with excessive or repeated hours because the institution cannot receive state funding for the courses. UT Tyler charges out-of-state tuition for all coursework to students with excessive hours.
Students with excessive hours are defined as:
a) Texas resident, undergraduates initially enrolling between the Fall 1999 and Summer 2006 semesters who exceed more than 45 hours of the number of required hours for their degree plan,
b) Texas resident, undergraduates initially enrolling Fall 2006 or after who exceed more than 30 hours of the number of required hours for their degree plan.
UT Tyler charges out-of-state tuition for each course that a student attempts for the third time. The following course types are exempt from this rule: developmental, special topics, seminars, individual music lessons, independent studies, practicums, music performance and ensembles.
Exemption to the payment of higher tuition for repeated hours is available only in the semester prior to graduation, for only one term.
For assistance or clarification of these rules, please contact the Enrollment Services Center (ADM 230).
26. What is the Military Service Credit Policy?
The Military Service Credit option is available to Veterans who have met the following requirements:
- Graduated from a public or private high school, accredited by a generally recognized accrediting organization or from a high school operated by the United States Department of Defense.
- Honorably discharged former member of the armed forces of the United States
- Completed a minimum of two years of service in the armed services or was discharged because of a disability.
In deciding whether to claim this credit, students should consider the impact of the credit on their eligibility for a tuition rebate; the possibility that they will charged additional tuition if they have excess credit; and the possibility that they will be ineligible for Texas B-On-Time loan forgiveness if they have excess credit.
To have the credit awarded, students must provide proof of eligibility (i.e., DD214 or disability discharge documentation, and military transcripts). Once processed (and approved), the appropriate amount of elective credit will be added to the student’s official academic record; effective the date of approval.
Please note, this process (including the awarding of credit) is irrevocable. Therefore, carefully consider should be given to the total effect of the additional course credit to degree progress and other institutional rules.
Credit earned under this policy (or legislative mandate) does not prohibit UT Tyler from awarding additional military educational experience credit based on American Council of Education (ACE) Guide recommendations.
HB 269 (THECB interpretation; effective June 19, 2009)
COURSE CREDIT FOR MILITARY SERVICE AND STANDARD FEE FOR RESERVE OFFICER TRAINING CORPS COURSES
Author: Lucio III Sponsor: Van de Putte
Summary: (HB 269 has two distinct sections, this summary pertains to Section 1)
Section 1 instructs institutions of higher education to award undergraduate students admitted to the institution and persons called into military service who are being readmitted to the institution, course credit for all physical education courses required for the person’s degree and additional course credit for up to 12 hours for courses that can meet the elective course requirements for the degree.
To qualify, the student must have graduated from an accredited high school or a high school operated by the U.S. Department of Defense and be an honorably discharged former member of the U.S. Armed Forces who either completed at least two years of service or was discharged because of a disability. The provisions apply regardless of whether the student was admitted prior to the effective date of the bill.
The Office of the Registrar is committed to providing accurate, timely, courteous and thorough service to potential students, enrolled students, alumni and the university’s external constituents. The goal of the office is to respond to written requests within three working days and telephone requests within 48 hours. Concerns regarding customer service should be directed to the Assistant Vice President for Enrollment Management and Marketing.