

FACULTY EXECUTIVE COUNCIL (FEC) COMMITTEE

Date: September 3, 2024 **Meeting Type**: Committee Meeting **Time:** 4:30-5:30pm **Location:** CRB 634 & Teams

Attendees:

<u>Voting members</u>: Dr. David Rice (Committee Chair, Primary Rep. Medical Education), Dr. Philip Pippin (Committee Secretary, Primary Rep. Family Medicine), Dr. Tiffany Hill (Primary Rep. Children's & Women's Health), Dr. Christian Alvarado (Primary Rep. Epidemiology & Biostatistics), Dr. Andrew Oshiro (Primary Rep. Psychiatry & Behavioral Medicine), Dr. Vijay Boggaram (Primary Rep. Cellular & Molecular Biology), D. James Fox (Primary Rep. Internal Medicine), Dr. Jeffrey Levin (Primary Rep. Preventive, Occupational & Environmental Medicine), Dr. Michelle Crum (Primary Rep. Preventive, Occupational & Environmental Medicine)

<u>Ex-Officio (Non-Voting) Members</u>: Dr. Brigham Willis (Chair, DEC), Dr. Peter Pendergrass (Chair, SPPC), Dr. Shilpa Chitnis (Chair, P&T), Dr. Emmanuel Elueze (Chairs, GMEC & CME), Dr. Torry Tucker (Chair, REC), Dr. Nessim Dalia (Chair, FHAC)

Other Attendees: Ms. Jaema Krier (Director, FAPD), Mr. Mark Tiller (Manager, FAPD)

Absent: Dr. Daren Yeager (Primary Rep. Children's & Women's Health), Dr. Robert Williams (Primary Rep. Surgery), Dr. Randy Ekins (Primary Rep. Emergency Medicine), Dr. Lindsey Stockton (Chair, AC), Dr. Sue Cox (Chairs, COC & CQIA), Dr. James Ragland (Chair, SCH)

Guests: n/a Resources: n/a

Teams:

Meeting ID: 281 877 794 851 Passcode: JZGvRg

New Agenda Items	Prep Materials	Presenter
ACTION ITEMS: Approval of Minutes from July 30, 2024 Nominations for Chair Elect & Secretary Elect 	Near Final Minutes	Chair/All
 INFORMATIONAL ITEMS: FY24 Annual Committee Reports Policy Workgroup Faculty Assembly - September 10th Faculty Affairs & Professional Development Updates 	Shared FY24 Report OneDrive Folder	Ms. Jaema Krier
4. Comments and Questions		All
5. Adjourn		Chair

Minutes

Call to Order

- The meeting was called to order by Dr. Rice at 4:33 PM.
- Dr. Rice expressed thanks to Dr. Levin for his service as the inaugural chair.
- Acknowledgement was given to Jaema and Mark for facilitating the meeting.

Meeting Proceedings

- **Roll Call**: It was agreed that roll call will be conducted at the start of each meeting to clarify voting capacities.
- Meeting Access: Teams links will continue to be sent exclusively to members.
 Faculty wishing to address the FEC will be required to register and attend in person.
- Governance: Robert's Rules of Order will be followed.

Approval of Minutes

- Motion: Dr. Fox moved to approve the previous meeting's minutes at 4:37 PM.
- **Second**: Dr. Pippin seconded the motion.
- Vote: The motion passed unanimously.
- Question: Dr. Levin inquired about how committee members can add items to the agenda.
- **Response**: Dr. Rice clarified that agenda items should be emailed in advance to him, with copies to Jaema and Mark.

Nominations for Chair-Elect and Secretary-Elect

- Nominations:
 - o Dr. Pippin nominated Dr. Fox
 - o Dr. Rice nominated Dr. Crum
- Motion: Dr. Hill moved to accept the above nominations.
- Second: Dr. Levin seconded the motion.
- **Vote**: The vote was deferred to an electronic ballot, with chair-elect going to the individual with the most votes.

Informational Items

• FY24 Annual Committee Reports:

- Membership was encouraged to review and provide feedback.
- Dr. Levin summarized the FEC FY2024 report, emphasizing the committee's role as the voice of the faculty.
- Dr. Willis thanked Dr. Levin and Dr. Alvarado for their service and underscored the importance of transparency as the school continues to grow.
- Policy Workgroup:
 - Dr. Willis proposed forming a functional workgroup to evaluate new policies for alignment with the school's mission.
 - **Clarification**: Dr. Levin asked if department-level policies would be reviewed by this group.
 - **Response**: Dr. Willis explained that the workgroup would primarily focus on academic policies but could offer guidance on clinical policies as well.
- Workgroup Membership:
 - The FEC Chair, a department chair, and two faculty members from the at-large voting membership were asked to serve on the policy workgroup. Dr. Rice solicited interest from members.

- **Question**: Dr. Fox asked what would happen if a policy did not align with the workgroup's recommendations.
- **Response**: Dr. Willis and Dr. Rice indicated that such policies would likely be returned to the originating group for further discussion.
- Upcoming Faculty Assembly:
 - The Faculty Assembly will take place on September 10 at the President's Event Center. Jaema encouraged members to register.
 - Committee chairs will present on behalf of their respective committees. Dr. Rice requested that Dr. Chitnis and Dr. Tucker be prepared to speak on behalf of the Promotion and Tenure Committee.

Faculty Affairs Updates – Ms. Jaema Krier

- **Bylaws Update**: The school's mission has changed, requiring updates to the bylaws to ensure consistency with the public mission.
- **Professional Development Tracking**: A new process is in place for tracking professional development activities for faculty with academic roles who are not part of the practice plan.
 - o Information on this has been disseminated to department chairs and administrators.
- Upcoming Events:
 - Dr. Lucchesi will host a professional development session for faculty every third Thursday from 12-1 PM, with the next session on September 19, 2024.
 - Career development sessions for Promotion & Tenure (P&T) candidates are scheduled for December/January.
 - Interfolio training will be held in the fall.
 - o LCME packet submission is due in October, with the site visit scheduled for February 3-5, 2025.
 - A faculty orientation event is planned for September 24, 2024, from 3-5 PM in the H Building.
 - WOW Day will be held on October 25, 2024, from 12-5 PM. More information will follow.

Comments and Questions

• It was noted that PowerPoint slides are not required for presentations at the Faculty Assembly.

Adjournment

- **Motion**: Dr. Hill motioned to adjourn the meeting at 5:33 PM.
- **Second**: Dr. Alvarado seconded the motion.
- **Vote**: The motion passed unanimously.

11937 U.S. Hwy. 271 | Tyler, Texas 75708 medicine.uttyler.edu

Prepared by: Dr. Philip Pippin 09/03/2024 Adopted by FEC 2/11/2025