ABET Accreditation

Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering

The University of Texas at Tyler Mechanical Engineering program is accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET, www.abet.org.

Program Educational Objectives

After graduation, engineers from our program will be able to:

  1. Formulate and solve complex practical and theoretical engineering problems, while considering business objectives and social, economic and ethical issues.
  2. Think critically and creatively, work effectively on interdisciplinary teams and communicate clearly in both technical and non-technical forums.
  3. Attain employment in an engineering capacity, serving the needs of private and public entities regionally and globally.
  4. Continue to grow professionally through advanced education or professional licensure and services.


Student Outcomes: 

At the time of graduation, mechanical engineering student should be able to: :

  1. Identify, formulate, and solve complex engineering problems by applying principles of engineering, science, and mathematics;
  2. Apply engineering design to produce solutions that meet specified needs with consideration of public health, safety, and welfare, as well as global, cultural, social, environmental, and economic factors;
  3. Communicate effectively with a range of audiences;
  4. Recognize ethical and professional responsibilities in engineering situations and make informed judgments, which must consider the impact of engineering solutions in global, economic, environmental, and societal contexts;
  5. Function effectively on a team whose members together provide leadership, create a collaborative and inclusive environment, establish goals, plan tasks, and meet objectives;
  6. Develop and conduct appropriate experimentation, analyze and interpret data, and use engineering judgment to draw conclusions; and
  7. Acquire and apply new knowledge as needed, using appropriate learning strategies.


Student Enrollment and Graduation Data

The enrollment history and degrees awarded for the last five years are linked below: