UT Tyler

UT Tyler Office of Marketing and Communications

University Honor Society Chapter Celebrates Student Achievement, Announces Inductees

Follow @UTTyler

Tweet - @UTTyler

December 14, 2017

Media Contact:  Hannah Buchanan
Public Affairs Specialist
Marketing and Communications
The University of Texas at Tyler
903.565.5769 or 903.539.7196 (cell)

The University of Texas at Tyler announces 67 student inductees in the Alpha Chi National Honor Society, which recognizes superior scholarly performance and exemplary character among both students and faculty. Alpha Chi is the only major multidisciplinary honor society in which students and faculty have equal roles.

To be eligible for membership as an undergraduate, a student must be at least a junior, have completed a minimum of 24 hours and be ranked among the top five percent in their college with a minimum 3.5 GPA. Graduate students with 15 hours who rank in the top five percent of their college and have a minimum 3.5 GPA are also eligible.

Among faculty, the 27th "Outstanding Faculty Member" awardees are Dr. Kerri Camp, College of Business and Technology; Dr. Amy Hayes, College of Education and Psychology; Dr. Premananda Indic, College of Engineering; Danice Greer, College of Nursing and Health Sciences; Dr. Ann Beebe, College of Arts and Sciences – Liberal Arts; and Dr. Sean Butler, College of Arts and Sciences – Sciences and Mathematics.

"This award is a means to raise the profile of Alpha Chi while at the same time involving faculty in a celebration of student achievement, and so to be recognized as an "Outstanding Faculty Member" this year by the chapter is very special," said Butler, who serves as chapter assistant sponsor. "I am honored to share in everyone's achievement and recognition by our Alpha Chi chapter."

For more information, visit alphachihonor.org or contact chapter sponsor Suzi Pundt, spundt@uttyler.edu.

Student inductees are listed by hometown.

AUSTIN – Maria Aguirre, Erika Parker, Anshul Tripathi and Phyllis Capdevielle.

BRONSON – Tiffany Duffey.

CHANDLER – Zachary Carnes and Halima Farooq.

COLLEGE STATION – Chelsey Rosen.

COPPELL – Ryan Brinda and Dale Halvorson.

CUSHING – Carmen Willis.

DALLAS – Sarah Webb, Phyllis Lawani and Melinda Van Veldhuizen.

ELKHART – Alicia Herron and Patricia Champagne.

FLOWER MOUND – Nneka Cos-Okpalla.

FORT STOCKTON – Lori Acosta.

FORT WORTH – Mark McAlister.

FRANKSTON – Laura Brown.

GEORGETOWN – Samantha Lee.

GILMER – Leona Caldemeyer.

HALLSVILLE – Tamika Hollins, Alyssa Cox and Haley Cox.

HENDERSON – Mary Sparks.

HOUSTON – Miles Scott and Ryan Nassif.

JACKSONVILLE – Miranda Johnston.

KILLEEN – Denise McKeithan.

LANEVILLE – Blair Warren.

LEAGUE CITY – Melissa Brown.

LINDALE – Aaron Cortinas, Jeffrey Martin and Heather Rodriquez.

LONGVIEW – Jennifer Roberts, Roxanne Saucedo, Tanisha Wright and Heather Davis.

LUBBOCK – Melanie Whiting.

MARSHALL – Jeffry Oney and Kelcie Oney.

MASON – Franklin Leamons.

MIDLOTHIAN – Andrew Windham.

MONT BELVIEU – Mariah Murphy.

PALESTINE – Ashley Walding.

PLAINVIEW – Lauren Aguilar.

ROUND ROCK – Donna Moore.

SAN ANTONIO – John Fuentes.

SANTA FE – Kellie Dudley.

SPRING – Amanda Worsham.

TYLER – Daniel Medina, Andrew Griffin, Kelsi Oldham, Christopher Glass, Tam Prater and Ashley Van Dusen.

VAN ORMY – Shelia Herrera.

WHITEHOUSE – Myra Foley and Hannah Reed.

COLORADO – Melanie Harbaugh.

MISSISSIPPI – Jordyn Garner.

MISSOURI – Jessie Shoemaker.

NORTH CAROLINA – Destiny Elmore.

OKLAHOMA – Gina Rice.

WYOMING – Catherine Palmer.

NEPAL – Unisha Maskey.

UT Tyler