UT Tyler

UT Tyler Office of Marketing and Communications

UT Tyler Announces 2014-15 Alpha Chi Honor Society Inductees

Follow @UTTyler

Tweet - @UTTyler

November 20, 2014

Media Contact:  Hannah Buchanan
Public Affairs Specialist
Marketing and Communications
The University of Texas at Tyler
903.565.5769 or 903.539.7196 (cell)

November 20, 2014

Sixty-four students at The University of Texas at Tyler were inducted into the Alpha Chi Honor Society Texas Alpha Xi Chapter for the 2014-15 academic year.

Outstanding faculty awards, which recognize teaching excellence and compassion for students, also were presented to the following:

Dr. Marco Castaneda, College of Arts and Sciences, liberal arts; Suzanne Pundt, College of Arts and Sciences, science and mathematics; Dr. Mark Miller, College of Business and Technology; Dr. Frank Dykes, College of Education and Psychology; Kay Pleasant, College of Engineering; and Dr. Shannon Kemp, College of Nursing and Health Sciences.

Alpha Chi is a coeducational society honoring university students for academic excellence. To qualify, students must be at least a junior with a minimum of 24 semester hours and minimum grade point average of 3.5. Graduate students must have a minimum of 15 hours with at least a 3.5. All students also must rank in the top 10 percent of their college.

Student inductees are listed by hometown.

AUSTIN – Karley Geiger.

BELTON –Rebekah Rush.

BIG SANDY – Makaia Prescott and Adam Switzer.

BRENHAM – Madison Draehn and Ryan Ruiz.

CANTON – Angela Kornegay.

CHANDLER – Cortney Parker.

CORSICANA – Lakeisha Bivens.

EMORY – Kaitlin Garner.

FORT WORTH – Melissa Bush.

FRIENDSWOOD – Lauren Massar.

GARLAND – Pamela Gobina.

GILMER – Chelsea Miears.

GLADEWATER – Joseph Scott and Kami Martin.

GROESBECK – Ronda Van Meter.

HALLSVILLE – Abby Jones.

HIDEAWAY – Donna Gatewood.

HOUSTON – Alanna Douglas, Susan Bunker, Emmanuel Barbosa, Darrell Alley, Alicia Gilliam and Jacquelyn Bhones.

JACKSONVILLE – Brian Sharma.

JERSEY VILLAGE – Terri Knudtson-Faurot.

LINDALE – Valerie Howell, Susan Hamel and Bethany Cox.

LONGVIEW – Rebekka Price.

MCKINNEY – Danecia Johnson.


NEW BRANFELS – Rita Janae Warren.

OVERTON – Scarlett Reeves.

PLANO – Jessica Brown.

RUSK – Maria Serrato.

SILSBEE –Brittani Keith.

SLOCUM – Melissa Jones.

TROUP – Samantha Nasser.

TYLER – Brandy Smith, Ma. Anna Kat Tilaon, Morgan Broyles, Leticia Chavez Gonzalez, Luke Clements, Teresa Easterling, Kimberly Lebl, Jennifer Perry and Taylor Kemp.

WHITEHOUSE – William Carrell, Cody Henson, Jessica Leonard, Alisan McNulty and Seth Swinney.

WINONA – Wendie Walker.

YANTIS – Shelby Higgins.

CALIFORNIA – Raychaelle Blue.

FLORIDA – John Peterson.

ILLINOIS – Erik Espinosa.

LOUISIANA – Donald Berry.

RHODE ISLAND – William Filippone.

UTAH – Tracy Nash.

WASHINGTON – Nicholas Sturm.

GERMANY – Jamel Toth.

For more information, visit https://www.alphachihonor.org.

One of the 15 campuses of the UT System, UT Tyler features excellence in teaching, research, artistic performance and community service. More than 80 undergraduate and graduate degrees are available at UT Tyler, which has an enrollment of more than 8,000 high-ability students. UT Tyler offers courses at its campuses in Tyler, Longview and Palestine as well as a location in Houston.

UT Tyler