The University of Texas at Tyler University Description 2025-2026

The University of Texas at Tyler (UT Tyler) was established in 1971 as Tyler State College, renamed as Texas Eastern University in 1975, and joined The University of Texas System (UTS) as The University of Texas at Tyler in 1979. As one of nine UTS academic institutions, UT Tyler is governed by the Office of the Chancellor and the UTS Board of Regents in compliance with all UTS policies and procedures. In 2020, the UTS Board of Regents announced the consolidation of UT Tyler and The University of Texas Health Science Center at Tyler (UTHSCT) into one institution operating as UT Tyler. UT Tyler is a member of NCAA Division II and is one of 27 institutions nationwide that earned both Research 2 (R2) and Opportunity College & University (OCU) designations in the new 2025 Carnegie Classifications. UT Tyler is led by Julie V. Philley, M.D. who serves as the sixth President.

UT Tyler Mission Statement: *UT Tyler is a comprehensive public university. We help our students, patients, and community members achieve their educational and health goals by offering a combination of excellence in higher education, research, public services, and advanced healthcare delivery.*

UT Tyler Vision Statement: We aspire to be an impactful, values-centered institution unified in common purpose; a community that fosters opportunity, committed to providing a uniquely balanced student experience and improving the quality of human life.

UT Tyler Values:

Servant Leadership: We put the needs of our students, patients, colleagues, and community, first. **Excellence**: We work collaboratively every day to be better and strive to establish and achieve exemplary outcomes.

Accountability: We hold ourselves to the highest ethical standards and manage the resources of UT Tyler wisely.

UT Tyler is organized into five academic colleges and three schools: College of Arts and Sciences, College of Education and Psychology, College of Engineering, Ben and Maytee Fisch College of Pharmacy, Soules College of Business, School of Medicine, School of Nursing, and School of Health Professions. Following the significant growth of its Honors Program, the university transitioned to an Honors College. UT Tyler awards approximately 2,900 degrees annually and offers 142 educational programs: 41 baccalaureate programs, 43 master's programs, nine doctoral programs that include one educational doctorate, four doctoral research programs and four doctoral professional programs in Medicine, Nursing, and Pharmacy and 50 academic certificates.

UT Tyler employs 712 Full-Time Faculty as reported in the 2024 IPEDS Human Resources Survey. Instructional locations include the main Tyler Campus, the Health Science Center, the Houston Engineering Center, the Longview University Center, and the Palestine Campus as well as online courses and programs. The university receives revenue from a variety of sources, including state appropriations, federal appropriations, philanthropic donations, and tuition revenue.

UT Tyler is dedicated to supporting students primarily within the 14-county East Texas region. However, UT Tyler students come from around the United States and dozens of countries around the world.

The University of Texas at Tyler is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) to award bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees. The University of Texas at Tyler may offer credentials such as certificates and diplomas at approved degree levels. Questions about the accreditation of The University of Texas at Tyler may be directed in writing to the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, GA 30033-4097, by calling (404) 679-4500, or by using information available on SACSCOC's website (www.sacscoc.org).