The University of Texas at Tyler
Tyler   •   Longview   •   Palestine
A centerpiece for learning,
culture and natural beauty

OU Campus Training and Standards

Schedule a Page to Expire

NOTE: This option should be used by advanced users with caution.

It is possible to schedule a page to expire on a specific date and time. 

To schedule a page to be expired, simply click the icon: expire button found in the folder structure view under Content > Pages.

schedule

Content Expiration allows users to schedule one of three expiration events:

  1. Replace the file with another file.
    - This copies the content from the chosen page and pastes it into the source for the page marked as expired.
  2. Redirect a visitor to different content.
    - This is not available when expiring a .pcf file.
  3. Delete the file.
    - This options is only available to Level 8 users and higher. Please check with the UT Tyler web team to find out if you have this option.

Important Note - Expiring files have site-wide effects.  Broken links could take place when expiring pages. Consider all potential impacts and make all necessary backups before proceeding with expiring a page.

schedule

  • Replace - Selecting this option will schedule to replace the file with the contents of another. To use this, click the "Choose replacement file..." text and select the replacement file from the resulting file chooser. This does not have an effect on the other page.
  • Redirect - Selecting this option will schedule the file to redirect all visitors to a different page. The "to" field requires a URL, or other valid absolute path. The second field specifies the delay inteval (in seconds) before a visitor is redirected to the new page. This field defaults to 0 seconds. The final text area allows for a message to be displayed until the redirect takes place. 
    Important Note -
    Redirect is not available for PCF files on the staging server.  When using Content Expiration with a PCF file, the screen will appear like this.
  • Delete - Selecting this option will schedule to delete the file on both production and staging servers.  This option is only available to users with permission levels of 8 or higher.  This option should be used with caution. This could cause broken links on the UT Tyler website.
©