UT Tyler

UT Tyler Office of Marketing and Communications

UT Tyler College of Business and Technology Recognizes Outstanding Students, Honor Society Inductees

Follow @UTTyler

Tweet - @UTTyler

May 14, 2014

Media Contact:  Hannah Buchanan
Public Affairs Specialist
Marketing and Communications
The University of Texas at Tyler
903.565.5769 or 903.539.7196 (cell)

May 14, 2014

The University of Texas at Tyler Texas College of Business and Technology held its 2014 Awards Day, Dr. Jerry W. Gilley, College of Business and Technology interim dean, announced.

The on-campus ceremony recognized outstanding UT Tyler students as well as UT Tyler Beta Gamma Sigma and Epsilon Pi Tau inductees.

The UT Tyler College of Business and Technology Outstanding Student Award recipients were nominated by faculty and chosen for their high academic standards, excellence in coursework and classroom participation. Outstanding undergraduate students are Loren Lirely of Tyler, Edward Timponi of Brazil, Haley Combs of Tyler, Stephen Ray of Tyler, Kenya Ray of Tyler, Edward Turner of Overton and Jordan McDowell of Forney. Outstanding graduate students are Johnnatan Berber of Tyler, Cody Patterson of Longview, Rubicely Hurtado of Houston, Daniel Lee of Tyler, Beth Adele of Okla. and Sam Carrell of Whitehouse.

Beta Gamma Sigma is an international honor society that serves business programs accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. Membership in Beta Gamma Sigma is the highest recognition a business student anywhere in the world can receive in a business program accredited by AACSB. The 2014 undergraduate student inductees are Kathy Bui of Tomball, Garrett Ehrmann of Whitehouse, Melissa Ellis of Tyler, Aaron Freeman Hallsville, Meghan Goodspeed of Tyler, Morgan Holcomb of Palestine, Kelsey Jolly of The Woodlands, Lirely, Daniel McDougall of Cisco, Chad Miller of Flint, John Montgomery of Athens, Morgan Patton of Texarkana, Sofia Ponce of Mineola, Brandi Thigpen of Naples, Harrell Vanis of Tyler and Mark Woodruff of Cayuga. Graduate student inductees are Berber, Kimberly Brock of Tyler, Michelle Corn of Temple, Jessie Joy of Houston, Colette Lacompte of Va., Rex Daniel Lomboy of Houston, Joshua Rios of Austin, Sean Swiedom of San Antonio and Shawn Taylor of Conn.

Beta Gamma Sigma faculty inductees also included Dr. Ann Gilley, UT Tyler professor of management and Dr. Jerry W. Gilley, as well as business honoree, Bobby Curtis, Tyler Building Systems chief executive officer.

Epsilon Pi Tau is an international honor society for professionals in technology. Epsilon Pi Tau recognizes academic excellence of students in fields devoted to the study of technology and the preparation of practitioners for technology professions. Inductees are chosen based on professional and leadership performance. The 2014 Epsilon Pi Tau inductees are William Ackerman of Henderson, Arturo Alvarado of Brownsboro, Patricia McDonald of Henderson, Douglas Morris of Longview, Jeffrey Rozelle of Bullard, Joseph Scott of Gladewater, Marcos Tirado of Tyler and Lance Wagner of Fruitvale.

For more information, contact Jessica Brown, college marketing coordinator, 903.565.5741 or jbrown@uttyler.edu.

One of the 15 campuses of the UT System, UT Tyler features excellence in teaching, research, artistic performance and community service. More than 80 undergraduate and graduate degrees are available at UT Tyler, which has an enrollment of more than 7,500 high-ability students. UT Tyler offers courses at its campuses in Tyler, Longview and Palestine as well as a location in Houston.

UT Tyler