Tuition, Charges and Fees
The University of Texas at Tyler
Average Cost of Attendance
- Tuition and Fee Schedule - Fall 2017 and Spring 2018
- Tuition and Fee Schedule - Summer 2017
- College of Pharmacy Tuition and Fees
- Undergraduate Net Cost Calculator
- Graduate Tuition and Fees Calculator
Tuition charges at Texas state universities are established by state law. The Texas 78th Texas Legislature (2003) allowed the Board of Regents of The University of Texas System to set designated tuition rates. The Texas Legislature does not set the specific amount for any particular student fee. Student fees assessed are authorized by state statute; however, the specific fee amounts and the determination to increase fees are made by the University administration and The University of Texas System Board of Regents. Other expenses at The University of Texas at Tyler are fixed within statutory limitations by the Board of Regents. The cost to attend UT Tyler varies with the individual student. The university reserves the right to change tuition and fees in keeping with acts of the Texas Legislature and/or policies of the Board of Regents.
Payment of Fees
Students are expected to pay all fees at the time of registration, have an approved financial aid program arranged by the Student Financial Aid Office prior to registration, or pay by installments as outlined below. Payment may be made by cash, check, credit card, or money order. Checks, money order, and credit card (VISA, Master Card, Discover, American Express) payments will be accepted subject to final collection by the university’s bank. All tuition and fee payments by third parties, i.e. employers of students, clubs, service organizations and relatives of students, must be arranged by the Student Financial Aid Office prior to registration.
Option to Pay Tuition and Fees by Installments
Students of UT Tyler may make payment of tuition and fees for the fall and spring semesters through one of the following installment plan options:
- 3 payment installment plan with an installment fee of $25.
- 4 payment installment plan with an installment fee of $35.
- 5 payment installment plan with an installment fee of $45.
A late payment fee of $25 will be assessed for each late payment.
A student who fails to provide full payment of tuition and fees, including late fees assessed, when payments are due, is subject to one or more of the following actions:
A. Bar from registration/deny readmission;
B. Withholding of grades, degree and official transcript;
C. Denial of course credit for work done that semester;
D. Apply appropriate penalties as established by law;
E. Referral of debt to collection agency.
Residents of States Other Than Texas
While State requirements for establishing residency are complex and should be referred to in each
particular circumstance, they generally require that an independent individual (18
years of age or older) establish a domicile in Texas and reside in Texas for a period
of 12 months prior to the census date of the academic term in which the person is
enrolled. Applicants must complete a certification of residency.
For minors and dependents, the parents or court-appointed legal guardian must have established
a domicile and meet the above residency requirements. The minor or dependent must be eligible to be claimed by the parent or court-appointed legal guardian on their federal income tax. An individual may also be classified as a Texas resident if the individual (1) graduated from a public or private high school or received the equivalent of a high school diploma in Texas; (2) resided in Texas for at least three years as of the date the person graduated from high school or received the equivalent of a high school diploma; and (3) continuously resided in Texas for one year prior to the census date of the academic term in which the person is enrolled. Texas Education Code, 54.052.
Persons who are unable to meet the requirements above are classified as nonresidents.
The Office of Admissions is guided by the Texas Education Code, the Rules and Regulations of the Board of Regents and the Rules and Regulations for Determining Residence Status of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board in determining the resident status of students. The law governing residence for tuition purposes is not the same as the law governing residence for voting, vehicle registration, etc. Various circumstances can affect a student’s residence status for tuition purposes: i.e. death or divorce of parents, custody of minor by court order, and active military duty of student or student’s parents. A nonresident student classification is presumed correct as long as the individual continues as a student. However, the nonresident presumption is not conclusive, and it is possible that a nonresident student may be reclassified to resident student status after residing in Texas for at least 12 months and evidencing unequivocal intent to remain in the state.
Student Responsibility for Residency Classification
The responsibility for registering under the proper residence is placed upon the student. It is the student’s duty, at or before registration, if there is any possible question of the right to legal residence in Texas under the state law and the university rules, to raise the question with the Office of Admissions and have such questions settled prior to registration. Copies of Rules and Regulations for Determining Residence Status prepared by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board are available in the Office of Admissions. There can be no change of resident status except upon express authorization by the Director of Admissions. Attempts on the part of a nonresident student to evade the nonresident fee are a serious matter and may lead to disciplinary action, including expulsion and/or penalty as set forth in the law.
Residence Classifications for Tuition
Listed below are two residency classifications used in determining tuition charges. The fee schedule for the classifications that appear in this section applies to enrollment for either credit or non-credit.
Residents of Texas: Residents of Texas pay tuition of $50 per semester credit hour, effective for the 2010-2011 academic year, with a minimum charge of $50 for a regular semester or 12-week summer session and a minimum charge of $50 for each six-week summer term.
Nonresidents, (U.S. Citizens and Foreign Students): Nonresident U.S. citizens and foreign students pay tuition of $404 per semester credit hour for the 2013-14 academic year.
Rates are determined by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board on an annual basis and are subject to change.
Designated Tuition: Students also pay a designated tuition of $129 per credit hour if they are an undergraduate or $209 per credit hour if they are a graduate; and $249 per credit hour if they are a doctoral student. Rates are subject to change after yearly review.
Oath of Residency
Statute: Section 54.0521(a) Before an individual may register at an institution of higher education paying tuition at the rate provided for residents, the individual must affirm under oath to the appropriate official at the institution that the individual is entitled to be classified as a resident for purposes of tuition.
Statute: Section 54.0521(b) If the institution later determines that the individual was not entitled to be classified as a resident at the time of the individual’s registration, the individual shall, not later than 30 days after the date the individual is notified of the determination, pay to the institution the amount the individual should have paid as a non-resident.
Statute: Section 54.0521(c) If the individual fails to make a timely payment as required by this section, the individual is not entitled to receive a transcript or to receive credit for courses taken during the time the individual was falsely registered as a resident student.
Oath of residency. When completing the oath of residency portion of the application for admission, the student is responsible for registering under the proper residence classification and for providing documentation as required by the public institution of higher education. If there is any question as to right to classification as a resident of Texas, it is the student’s obligation, prior to or at the time of enrollment, to raise the question for official determination by the director of admissions. Students classified as Texas residents must affirm the correctness of that classification as a part of the admissions procedure. If the student’s classification as a resident becomes inappropriate for any reason, it is the responsibility of the student to notify the Office of Admissions. Failure to notify the institution constitutes a violation of the oath of residency and will result in disciplinary action.
45+ Hour Rule
Students who are residents of the state of Texas are advised that they will be required to pay out-of-state tuition for credit taken towards their first baccalaureate degree 45 semester hours above the required number of hours for the first degree. For assistance or clarification in regards to this regulation, contact the Office of the Registrar.
Tuition Rebate for Qualified Students
A qualified student is eligible to apply for a rebate of a portion of the undergraduate
tuition the student has paid, in accordance with Section 54.0065 of the Texas Education
Code. The 1997 Texas Legislature approved a tuition rebate plan for students receiving
their first baccalaureate degree. For a student to be eligible for a rebate of a portion
of the undergraduate tuition the student has paid: they must be Texas residents having
enrolled for the first time in an institution of higher education in the fall of 1997
or later; attempted all work at a Texas public institution of higher education and
been entitled to pay resident tuition at all times while pursuing the degree and must
not have attempted more than three hours in excess of the minimum required for the
degree, including transfer credits and course credit earned exclusively by examination.
Only the number of semester credit hours earned exclusively by examination in excess
of nine semester credit hours is treated as hours attempted
Rebate Application forms are available at the Office of the Registrar, ADM 221. Eligible students should apply for this rebate prior to graduation.