Preceptor Awards


Preceptor of the Year Awards

Congratulations to our 2017 Preceptor of the Year Award winners!

The Ben and Maytee Fisch College of Pharmacy received a tremendous amount of feedback from both its first- and second-year cohorts. The Office of Experiential Education collected dozens of nominations for Preceptor of the Year, and it was an exciting challenge for the Awards Committee to make its final decision.

There were many spectacular candidates, and this year, the committee selected four recipients representative of the different types of pharmacy practice experiences that the students had over the course of the year – Community Chain, Institutional, Community Independent and Specialty/LTC.

The Office of Experiential Education, along with the students who nominated the award recipients, presented the Preceptor of the Year Awards at the Preceptor Appreciation Dinner. The celebration took place in The Greenhouse at The Grove, one of Tyler’s hottest new venues. It was an incredible evening of food, live music, and networking with friends and colleagues.


Nic Garner

Nic Garner, PharmD – Community Chain Award

Dr. Nic Garner is the pharmacist-in-charge at the CVS Store on South Broadway in Tyler. Photographed alongside Dr. Garner is P2 student, Mr. Cody Gill.


Tina Collins

Tina Collins, PharmD - Institutional Award

Dr. Tina Collins is a staff pharmacist at Longview Regional Medical Center in Longview. Photographed alongside Dr. Collins is P1 student, Mrs. Lindsey Bell.


Stacy Cody

Stacy Cody, RPh - Community Independent Award

Mr. Stacy Cody is the owner and pharmacy manager of Cody Drug in Sulphur Springs. Photographed alongside Mr. Cody are P1 students, Mr. Oneill Niyomugabo, Ms. Enelize Perez and Mrs. Lindsey Bell (from left to right).


Ray Haley

Ray Haley, RPh – Specialty/Long-term Care

Mr. Ray Haley, Jr. is pharmacist-in-charge at PharmScript of Texas North in Tyler. Photographed alongside Mr. Haley are P2 students, Mr. Jesse Chavez, Ms. Meri Tesfay, and Ms. Carley Johnson (from left to right).