Export Control

Sanctioned or Restricted Countries, Organizations and Persons

Office of Research and Scholarship

The Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) maintains the Commerce Control List (CCL) within the Export Administration Regulations (EAR), which includes items subject to the export licensing authority of BIS (i.e. commodities, software, and technology). In instances where agencies other than the Department of Commerce administer controls over related items, entries in the CCL contain a reference to these controls. BIS also maintains the Commerce Country Chart. This chart contains licensing requirements based on destination and Reason for Control. In combination with the CCL, the Commerce Country Chart allows you to determine whether a license is required for items on the CCL to any country in the world (language taken from 15 CFR §738).

The technology, data, or items are considered to be “controlled” if found on the CCL or the ITAR Munitions List. This includes the transfer of “controlled” technology, data, or items to foreign nationals within the U.S. or outside the U.S.

The Office of Foreign Asset Control (OFAC) limits certain activities in the Balkans, Burma, Cuba, Iran, Iraq, Libya, North Korea, Sudan, Syria, and Zimbabwe. View the active sanctions.

  • Some of the sanctions are monetary in nature, and other sanctions may either prohibit shipping or require a license to ship. For example, the shipping of cotton seed to Iran requires a license or permission from OFAC. Please note: the item does not have to be military in nature to require a license. Keep in mind that foreign countries also have their own import regulations that must be followed.

The International Traffic in Arms Regulations (ITAR) prohibits exports and sales to certain countries (22 CFR §126.1). It is the policy of the United States to deny licenses and other approvals for exports and imports of defense articles and defense services, destined for or originating in certain countries. View the active sanctions.

  • This policy applies to Belarus, Burma, China, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria and Venezuela. Other countries with a policy of denial with specified exceptions include Afghanistan, Central African Republic, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eritrea, Haiti, Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, and Zimbabwe.

Exports to countries which the Secretary of State has determined to have repeatedly provided support of acts of international terrorism are contrary to the foreign policy of the United States. Except for a few limited circumstances, it is the policy of the United States to deny licenses, other approvals, exports and imports of defense articles and defense services destined for or originating in Iraq, Afghanistan, Rwanda, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

In addition, there are a number of important lists that address trade sanctioned persons and organizations:

  1. The Specially Designated Nationals and Blocked Persons List (Treasury)
  2. The Foreign Sanctions Evaders List (Treasury)
  3. The Entity List (Commerce)
  4. The Denied Persons List (Commerce)
  5. The Unverified List (Commerce)
  6. The Nonproliferation Sanctions List (State)
  7. The AECA Debarred List (State)


Please contact the Export Controls Officer if you have any questions or if you are planning to travel or ship anything to the above referenced countries or persons. See the ORS Export Control Travel webpage for more information.