UT Tyler

UT Tyler Office of Marketing and Communications

The University of Texas at Tyler and Tyler Junior College Partner to Promote STEM Education

Follow @UTTyler

Tweet - @UTTyler

July 5, 2017

Media Contact:  Hannah Buchanan
Public Affairs Specialist
Marketing and Communications
The University of Texas at Tyler
903.565.5769 or 903.539.7196 (cell)

The University of Texas at Tyler and Tyler Junior College are community partners in the Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation Summer Research Academy, President Michael Tidwell announced.

The program, sponsored by UT System and supported by the National Science Foundation, is designed to provide research experiences to undergraduate students from underrepresented populations and encourage them to pursue graduate-level science, technology, engineering and mathematics studies.

Eight students from The University of Texas at Tyler and two students from Tyler Junior College have been accepted as fellows in the program.

Participants are mentored by The University of Texas at Tyler College of Arts and Sciences and College of Engineering faculty.

Students listed by hometown are:

HOUSTON – Christian Miranda, electrical engineering, Dr. Melvin Robinson.

LAMPASAS – Emily Dunnahoe, biology, Dr. Brent Bill.

TYLER – Andrew Hernandez, mechanical engineering, Dr. Nelson Fumo; Dryden Johnson, biology, Dr. Neil Ford; Yansy Perez, mathematics, Dr. David Milan; Marisa Quevedo, biology, Dr. Lance Williams; Michelle Veronin, biology, Dr. John Placyk; Vincent Villalobos, mathematics, Dr. Scott LaLonde; and Gabriella Morales, civil engineering, Dr. Mena Souliman.

WHITEHOUSE –Alyssa Blanton, biology, Dr. Joshua Banta.

Each student receives a fellowship stipend for their participation, and faculty mentors receive funding for supplies and materials to support their student's research activities.

The SRA students will participate in video conferences involving all UT LSAMP fellows and mentors across UT System. They will also give poster presentations at both the academy's conclusion and the annual UT LSAMP Student Research Conference in September.

In addition, Tyler Junior College student Anna Armstrong, who worked last summer with Dr. Kate Hertweck in biology, was selected for this year's LSAMP Summer Research Academy Abroad Program and will conduct biological research at Imperial College in London.

Dr. Stephen B. Rainwater serves as the university's LSAMP campus director. The University of Texas at Tyler chair and professor of chemistry and biochemistry Dr. Neil Gray and Ford also contribute in supporting roles on the local advisory committee. Gigi Delk, The University of Texas at Tyler adjunct senior lecturer and TJC computer science faculty member, serves as the TJC LSAMP campus director.

One of the 14 campuses of the UT System, The University of Texas at Tyler features excellence in teaching, research, artistic performance and community service. More than 80 undergraduate and graduate degrees are available at The University of Texas at Tyler, which has an enrollment of almost 10,000 high-ability students. The University of Texas at Tyler offers courses at its campuses in Tyler, Longview and Palestine as well as a location in Houston.

UT Tyler