Teaching Innovation Awards

Teaching Innovation Awards

The Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning

The Innovation in Teaching Award (ITA) provides faculty stipends of $2,000 to enhance student learning through innovative activities and approaches. This award is sponsored by the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning. Prior to 2023, this award was called the Teaching and Learning Award (TLA).


This competitive award is open to all faculty and staff who have continuing appointments and course development responsibilities (i.e., an assignment from the dean, chair, or designee to develop a new course or significantly revise an existing course). This includes, but is not limited to, tenured and tenure-track faculty; clinical instructional faculty; lecturers, and graduate student teachers.

Applications from teams of collaborating proposers are encouraged but only one stipend will be provided to the primary applicant named in the application. Activities may not be similar to other submitted/proposed projects. 

Application Details

All applications are handled electronically. Applications must be submitted as PDF documents to cetl@uttyler.edu by the application deadline noted below. Please download the Application Form for details on application requirements, award requirements, and the application evaluation rubric. 

2023 Innovation in Teaching Award Application

Application Deadline: March 2024 (Date TBD)

Award winners will be announced at the end of the year during the 2024 Faculty Awards Banquet. 

                   Danielle Bailey     Teaching Award 2023

Teaching Award 2023

Previous Winners


Carla Lacerda                Chemical Engineering
Forrest Kaiser Educational Leadership
Maddie Dawsey Mathematics


2020 - 2021

Colleen Marzilli Nursing
Alwathiqbellah Ibrahim Mechanical Engineering
Colin Snider History
Sooah Park Music
Tahsin Khajah Mechanical Engineering
Danielle Bailey Criminal Justice 



Kassie Archer Mathematics
Prabha Sundaradivel Electrical Engineering
Ashley Dalby Health and Kinesiology
Jessica Rueter Education
Cheon-woo Han Education
Leanne Coyne Pharmaceutical Science



Annamary Consalvo Education
Clement Chan Biology
Mark Owens Political Science
Nelson Fumo Mechanical Engineering
Scott LaLonde Mathematics
Tyler Hall Mechanical Engineering



Rochelle McWhorter           Human Resource Development
Laura Owens Psychology & Counseling
Sooah Park Music
Leanne Coyne Pharmaceutical Sciences
Nelson Fumo Mechanical Engineering