UT Tyler Department of Mathematics

About the Department

UT Tyler Department of Mathematics

The Department of Mathematics is home to nine tenured or tenure-track faculty, three full-time lecturers, two visiting professors, two postdoctoral fellows, several dedicated adjunct faculty and graduate teaching assistants, and a full-time administrative assistant. The department is committed to providing students a high quality education through caring faculty who hold their students to high standards and expectations.

The department is housed in Ratliff Building North (RBN), with several well-designed classroom spaces, computing facilities, and areas for tutoring and studying.

Students at UT Tyler, and especially in the Department of Mathematics, are well served by smaller class sizes and a high level of faculty interest in individual student success. Mathematics majors have opportunities to travel with faculty to several regional conferences each year, notably the Texas Undergraduate Mathematics Conference (TUMC) and the annual Spring Meeting of the Texas Section of the MAA.

All mathematics majors interact with a faculty mentor in a capstone senior seminar project, entailing an original or expository research project, paper and presentation. Several faculty engage in research with undergraduates, as evidenced by the department's history as a location for a Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU) program.

Faculty members also pursue their own research, both independently and jointly, in topics including applied mathematics, C*-algebras, finite dimensional algebras, graph theory, mathematical physics, number theory and combinatorics, and set-theoretic topology. The faculty are encouraged to publish regularly, and recent publications of members of the department are on display in the fourth-floor atrium of RBN.