The University of Texas at Tyler
Passport Application Acceptance Services
Do you need a passport? Has your passport already expired? We can help you complete the process to apply for a passport, obtain a passport picture, or to receive help with a renewal or correction. Please view our passport application check lists to ensure you bring everything you need.
3620 Varsity Dr., Tyler, at the corner of Varsity Dr. and Old Omen Road (across from The University of Texas at Tyler Cowan Fine & Performing Arts Center). We have a small parking lot in front of our building with a passport parking sign displayed.
Hours and Closures
Hours of Operation: Noon - 4 p.m. Monday - Friday
Applicants must be signed in by 3:30 p.m. to ensure you can be served before closing. Unfortunately, applicants arriving after that time can not be served due to passport mailing regulations. Passport application facility closes promptly at 4 p.m. each day.
We are closed for all national holidays and some school holidays. We will be closed May 29, 2017 for Memorial Day. Please check our website or send an email for updates on school closures.
We are not able to accept appointments at this time. We are walk-in only. Please have your paperwork complete when you arrive to ensure swift service.
Current Passport Processing Times
Current Expedite Processing: Two to three weeks. If you are traveling in fewer than nine weeks, consider using
Expedite Processing. This is an additional $60 per application. Overnighting is also
highly recommended to ensure fast delivery.
Current Routine Processing: Six to eight weeks. If you are traveling in more than nine weeks, please use Routine Processing.
Processing times for passports can increase with short notice. Please make every effort to apply for your passports as early as possible, and confirm processing time by visiting the U.S. Department of State official website.
You can also cut off a two- to five-day mailing period by using the overnight mailing option for an additional $15.45.
Email is the best method of contact and is answered as soon as possible by an available acceptance agent.
Call: 903.565.6155 Select Option 2 for information on Passport Services.
Se habla español. Para más información:
Before You Apply...
Previous Marriage Information Sheet
If you have been widowed/divorced and remarried, upon arrival to the acceptance facility you may be requested to provide additional information.
To expedite the acceptance process, you can print and complete the Previous Marriage Information Sheet, one for each previous marriage, before you come in.
Not completing this form can cause delays in passport processing and receiving.Print the Form
16- to 17-Year Old Applicants
16-17-year-old applicants are issued a 10-yr passport, thus adult fees apply.
For applicants in this age bracket, you have specific guidelines to follow that differ from minors under 16.
The 16-17 year old will need to provide a form of ID, like a driver's license, school ID, or a previously issued U.S. Passport, and at least two forms of parental consent. Some examples of consent are a parent's check which is signed by the parent, a photocopy of a parent's ID, an appearing parent who also signs the application in the sight of a certified agent, and a letter of consent with parent's signature and date-of-consent.
To learn more please follow the link to the US Dept. of State website.Learn More
Minor Applicants (Under 16)
Minor passports are valid for 5 years. The DS-82 Renewal form cannot be used if the passport was issued when the applicant was under 16. In this case a DS-11 should be used and the applicant submit their paperwork through an agency.
Both parents must be present to apply for a passport for any child in this age bracket.
If one parent cannot appear, specific notarized documentation (usually DS-3053) must be provided.
If both parents cannot appear, a third party may apply for the child's passport with a notarized statement from both parents/guardians giving that third party permission to apply for the child, along with a photocopy of both parent's ID. When the statement is from only one parent/guardian, the third party must present evidence of sole custody of the consenting parent/guardian.Learn More