UT Tyler Registrar

Tuition Rebate for Qualified Undergraduates

Office of the Registrar

The 1997 Texas Legislature approved a tuition rebate plan for students receiving their first baccalaureate degree if they meet the requirements.

For a student to be eligible for the rebate program, they must:

  • Have attempted no more than three hours in excess of the minimum number of semester credit hours required to complete the degree under the catalog under which they were graduated. For a typical 120 hour degree, the student may have attempted a maximum of 123 hours. Please reference your Patriot Advisement Report or consult your Academic Advisor to determine the minimum hours required for your degree if you are uncertain. Hours attempted include:
    • All credit hours earned in residence at the degree-granting institution
    • All transfer credit hours, including those from private or out-of-state institutions
    • Course credit earned exclusively by examination (AP, CLEP, IB, etc); the first nine hours of such credit is exempted
    • Courses that are dropped after the official census date (IE. W or Q grades)
    • Developmental courses taken for credit
    • Optional internship and cooperative education courses
    • Courses repeated exclusively by examination
    • Repeated courses, including those completed for grade replacement/forgiveness
  • Have taken their first post-high school college course in Fall 1997 or later.
  • Be requesting a rebate for work related to a first baccalaureate degree received from a Texas public university.
  • Have been a resident of Texas, and have been entitled to pay resident tuition, at all times while pursuing the degree.
  • Submit an application prior to graduation, and successfully graduate, in the same semester.
  • Graduate in a timely manner if they were admitted to college for the first time beginning Fall 2005 or later.
    • Timely graduation is defined as graduation within four calendar years of the first semester of enrollment in college courses. Certain degree programs, as determined by the State, are allowed five years. These include architecture and engineering.

Additional Information

Graduate students and Second Baccalaureate students do not qualify for the Tuition Rebate.

Students may not apply for the program after their official graduation date.

Effective Summer 2011, credits earned as dual credit prior to high school graduation are no longer considered toward hour counts when assessing student eligibility for the program.

Courses dropped for reasons that are determined by the institution to be totally beyond the control of the student shall not be counted.

Students must keep the institution informed of their addresses for at least 60 days after their graduation date.

The amount of tuition to be rebated to a student under this program is $1,000, unless the total amount of undergraduate tuition paid by the student to the institution awarding the degree was less than $1,000, in which event the amount of tuition to be rebated is an amount equal to the amount of undergraduate tuition paid by the student to the institution.

A student who paid the institution awarding the degree an amount of undergraduate tuition less than $1,000 may qualify for an increase in the amount of the rebate, not to exceed a total rebate of $1,000, for any amount of undergraduate tuition the student paid to other Texas public institutions of higher education by providing the institution awarding the degree with proof of the total amount of that tuition paid to other institutions.

Tuition rebates shall be reduced by the amount of any outstanding student loan, including an emergency loan, owed to or guaranteed by this state, including the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation. If a student has more than one outstanding student loan, the institution shall apply the amount of the rebate to the loans as directed by the student. If the student fails to provide timely instructions on the application of the amount, the institution shall apply the amount of the rebate to retire the loans with the highest interest rates first.

Students who feel they qualify for this program may complete the application linked above.

Notifications of approval/denial of applications for the program will be made available in the form of service indicators (holds), which can be viewed in the Student Services Center area of myUTTyler.

If you have questions, please contact the One-Stop, STE 230, 903.566.7180.